Above: ANW on tour • Anna Henderson • Celtic Festival Glen Innes • Ceramic Break Warialda


Arts North West supports and facilitates arts and cultural activity in the New England North West.

Based in Glen Innes, Arts North West is the regional arts development organisation for the New England North West of NSW. It is a not-for-profit incorporated association, and is supported by the NSW Government through Arts NSW and the partnership of 11 local government authorities (Armidale Regional, Glen Innes Severn, Gunnedah Shire, Gwydir Shire, Liverpool Plains Shire, Moree Plains Shire, Narrabri Shire, Tamworth Regional, Tenterfield Shire, Uralla Shire and Walcha Councils) 

Arts North West facilitates the development of arts and cultural projects and initiatives across the whole region, building a rich cultural landscape in the New England North West and increasing participation in arts and cultural activities.  We play a vital role in building cultural community capacity, through advice and advocacy, through substantial professional development provision and with the forging of key partnerships and networks throughout the region. 

A two-tiered model from May 2018

Arts North West is changing its Governance Structure to a skill based board.  Expressions of Interest are currently sought from arts and cultural organisations
who would like to be part of the Strategic Advisory Council, which reports to the Board of Management of Arts North West.  
There are up to four vacancies for independent cultural organisations in the New England North West.

The Strategic Advisory Council comprises eleven (11) representatives from contributing LGAs and up to four (4) independent
cultural organisations providing strategic input and feedback into programming and direction.


Strategic Advisory Council positions are all voluntary and each appointment is for an initial two-year term. The Strategic Advisory Council will meet in August to provide input into the following year program and in November to provide feedback and comment on the proposed program for the following year. Advisory Council delegates are also welcome to observe Board meetings.

Role of the Strategic Advisory Council

  • Council delegates will provide input into programming and strategic direction.
  • The Strategic Advisory Council will receive regular updates from the Executive Director and may receive requests for feedback or input on policy
    development and potential projects.
  • Strategic Advisory Council delegates will also act as champions and advocates for Arts North West in their own region.

Key selection criteria

  • Representative of a key independent community cultural organisation in the New England North West.
  • Ability to apply strategic thought to key issues
  • Prepared to question, challenge and critique, and be an active contributor
  • Interest in the arts and or the role that the arts can play in regional communities
  • Effective interpersonal and communication skills

If you are passionate about regional arts and would like your community organisation to have a voice in arts
and cultural development in our region, then please consider putting in an application by 1 APRIL 2018.

Download EOI Form HERE

Please complete the EOI Application and send attention to
Anna Watt, Chair of Arts North West rado@artsnw.com.au

For more information contact Executive Director Caroline Downer
Arts North West 0428 042 622 E: rado@artsnw.com.au

Further information:
ANW Strategic plan
Draft Governance Policy
Draft Strategic Advisory Council Policy

2017/18 BOARD

Chair - Anna Watt
Glen Innes Severn Council

Vice Chair - Sandy McNaughton
Community member - co-opted

Vice Chair - Rebecca Ryan
Community member - Gunnedah

Treasurer - Cr Sue Price
Moree Plains Shire Council

Secretary and Public Officer - Chris Newbigin
Community member - co-opted

Donna Ausling
Liverpool Plains Shire Council

Vivien Clyne
Community member - Moree

Kay Delahunt
Tamworth Regional Council

Tania Hartigan
Community member - Wallabadah

Lauren Mackley
Gunnedah Shire Council

Monique Rosewarne
Community member - Narrabri

Tara Toomey
Uralla Shire Council

Cr Gary Verri
Tenterfield Shire Council

Hayley Ward
Armidale Regional Council

Cr Frances Young
Gwydir Shire Council